Scotland

Got something to discuss about RL in general? Then this is the place to post it.
morley pie eater

Scotland

Post by morley pie eater »

Have you ever been to Scotland? (EW excepted of course.) Especially north of Glasgow and Edinburgh.

Some of us who have been had an interesting discussion but on the wrong thread - sincere apologies, Josie :oops:

Me and Mrs Morley, a Yorkshire lass, moved to Scotland in 1974 just after we got married. We'd probably have stayed there, but for an imminent birth coinciding with a driving ban in 1977.

Probably the best 3-4 months of my life, certainly work-wise, happened in 1975. I was a lorry driver, and the firm I worked for got a contract to deliver 40 "Portakabins" to a place called Kishorn - on the NW coast just opposite Skye.

Now we lived 30 miles north of Edinburgh, but it was still a full day's journey to get up there with a wide load not really suited to single track roads! So a 6 day week meant only 3 cabins delivered. The 40 trips took over 3 months, but I've often said I'd have worked for nowt.

The route was through Crieff, Lochearnhead, Crianlarich, Glencoe, Kinlochleven (no bridge at Ballachulish then), Fort William and packed lunch at Spean Bridge watching RAF planes below the commando monument , flying 15 or 20 feet above the water.

Then on through Invergarry and Shiel Bridge towards Kyle of Lochalsh, turning right on single track roads for the remaining 30 miles, which could take 2 hours.
. . . . . . ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
CheshireWarrior

Re: Scotland

Post by CheshireWarrior »

I've been to Edinburgh twice, once in 2016 for my older brothers stag and once again in 2018 for a visit.

I must admit I loved it! X2!

Il hold my hands up fully, I had and still have beliefs that Celtic Nations are not a fan of the English......and not just sports related!

Edinburgh was very beautiful and very cultural and no doubt has gone from strength!

Can't speak for anywhere else in Scotland, but I'd throughly recommend Edinburgh 100%!